07-06-09

I stumbled upon an old pear tree on Saturday evening as I roamed around between dinner and fireworks.  This photo of one of the pears on the tree makes me think of one of my favorite movies, “City of Angel’s”.  Of course I’m thinking of the scene where Seth (played by Nicolas Cage) and Maggie (played by Meg Ryan) are in a produce stand and he asks her about the taste of a pear.  Sadly, it’s the scene that causes the movie to end in such a tragic way.

Seth: What’s that like? What’s it taste like? Describe it like Hemingway.
Maggie Rice: Well, it tastes like a pear. You don’t know what a pear tastes like?
Seth: I don’t know what a pear tastes like to you.
Maggie Rice: Sweet, juicy, soft on your tongue, grainy like a sugary sand that dissolves in your mouth. How’s that? Seth: It’s perfect.

City of Angels has many scenes that I adore and thinking of it now makes me want to watch it.  I think I might just find the old video, dust it off and enjoy it once again today.  After all, it is my birthday.   afs

