01-19-09-the-same-sky1

Today we honor the Reverand Martin Luther King Jr. who shared with us his passion for equality and peace, and who taught us to judge others not by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.  He valued love over hate and hope over dispair.  He painted a picture of a world in which we would all live together in harmony.

It’s a beautiful picture.  After all, we do all live underneath the same sky.

Below are a few of Rev. King’s quotes followed by a favorite song that’s been getting lots of play on my iPod since the holidays.   afs

 

I’d like someone to mention the day that Martin Luther King tried to give his life serving others. I’d like somebody to say that day, that Martin Luther King tried to love somebody. I want you to say that day, that I tried to be right on the war question. I want you to be able to say that day, that I did try to feed the hungry . . . I want you to say that I tried to love and serve humanity. Yes, if you want to say that I was a drum major, say that I was a drum major for justice; say that I was a drum major for peace; I was a drum major for righteousness . . . I want to leave a committed life behind.”   MLKjr

“Peace is not merely a distant goal that we seek, but a means by which we arrive at that goal.”    MLKjr

 “As you press on for justice, be sure to move with dignity and discipline, using only the weapon of love. Let no man pull you so low as to hate him.” MLKjr

“Always avoid violence. If you succumb to the temptation of using violence in your struggle, unborn generations will be the recipients of a long and desolate night of bitterness, and your chief legacy to the future will be an endless reign of meaningless chaos.”   MLKjr

 

Let There Be Peace on Earth 

Let there be peace on earth,
and let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on Earth,
the peace that was meant to be.

With God as our Father,
brothers all are we,
Let me walk with my brother,
in perfect harmony.

Let peace begin with me,
let this be the moment now.
With every step I take,
let this be my solemn vow,

To take each moment and live each moment
in peace, eternally.
Let there be Peace on Earth,
and let it begin with me.

Words and Music by Jill Jackson and Sy Miller, Circa 1955 

