1-1-09

We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.  ~Edith Lovejoy Pierce

We’ll be having collards, peas, and pork for our traditional southern New Years day dinner.  Of course I’m not ashamed to say that I take the easy way out and go frozen all the way.  I know it’s not as good as I’m sure these fresh collards would be, but then I wouldn’t know how to begin to prepare them properly.  It’s said that greens and peas represent financial prosperity in the new year.  Let’s hope that in these tough economic times that this holds true more than ever for all who enjoy them today.

This red truck covered with fresh collards was spotted at the Anderson Farmer’s Market as I left work on New Years Eve.  Notice the FFA decal on his back window?  I know that some farmer must have worked very hard to grow these greens and I hope he did well with his sales.

Happy New Year!    afs

